EdTa Logo


Franklin Drama Club is a school organization dedicated to producing entertaining and educational high school theatre. Membership is open to all students in grades 9-12 at Franklin High School with an interest in the performing arts.

If you have a passion for acting, directing, stage managing, building sets, or working in technical theatre, come join us!

Like our page and follow us on twitter and Instagram:  


Twitter: @fhsdrama1569

Instagram: @fhsdrama1569



Auditions for FHS Fall Play

Auditions for our fall production of CAN'T STOP THE WROK, a world premier 80s comedy, will be Saturday, August 13th at 1am at FHS. 

Auditions are open to any student entering grades 9-12 for the 2022-2023 school year. 



Announcing our 2022-2023 Theatre Season!




Miami Valley High School Theatre Awards

FHS Theater Program Nabs 24 MVHSTAs

by Peggy Darragh-Jeromos

Franklin High School's theater program took home 24 awards from the inaugural Miami Valley High School Theater Awards on June 11, including an "Outstanding Production of a Play" for The Diary of Anne Frank. Only eight plays received this honor. 

"The high school DayTony awards ended last year when the Victoria Theater Association decided that they wanted to start their own rewards program and the The Miami Valley High School Theater Awards have taken up the responsibility," explained Jeff Sams, FHS English and Drama teacher, and the director of Franklin High School's three 2018-19 drama productions. Sams added, "The new program is adjudicated by adults and theater professionals, unlike the high school DayTonys, which had student judges." The adjudicators reviewed 40 productions from participating schools during the 2018-19 season. Sams noted, "Performances are evaluated from every angle including performance and production so when our students receive Outstanding Awards, it is a great achievement."
"This new program is very formal and includes on-stage performances which is also exciting," said Sams, and added, "Being part of this program provides much-needed recognition for our students. It helps them gain a sense of the strength of our program and it is a great source of pride for them and their peers to be recognized." 
Sams noted that the presentation ceremony is a Tony Awards-style showcase, and that four FHS students had the opportunity to participate on-stage. Addie Imundo and Aidan DeFrates, who were rewarded Outstanding Awards for their performances in The Little Mermaid, were invited to perform with other Outstanding Actor and Actresses from other schools. Bryant Greer and Haleigh Sturgis performed in the opening and closing numbers of the show.
Students who were honored for their work in The Diary of Anne Frank include Nina Lin--Outstanding Lead Actress in a Play; Jefferson Smith--Outstanding Lead Actor in a Play; Ashley Back, Addie Imundo, and Haleigh Sturgis--Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Play; Aidan DeFrates and Colton Wolf--Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Play; Taylor Whiteman--Outstanding Student Props Design for a Play; Maximus Lykins--Merit for Supporting Actor in a Play; and Sidnie Penny--Merit for Supporting Actress in a Play. The production also garnered an award for Outstanding Ensemble. 

Students recognized for their work in The Little Mermaid include Addie Imundo--Outstanding Lead Actress in a Musical; Aidan DeFrates--Outstanding Lead Actor in a Musical; Haley Wills--Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Musical; Jonathan Schmidt and Colton Wolf--Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Musical; Brendan Milligan and Jefferson Smith--Merit for Supporting Actor in a Musical; Tori Hamilton--Merit for Supporting Actress in a Musical; and Haleigh Sturgis--Merit for Lead Actress in a Musical. The musical also received the Merit for Student Orchestra of a Musical award. 
Colton Wolf's role in Sherlock Holmes also was recognized for Merit for Leading Actor in a Play.
Participating high schools include Alter, Carlisle, Carroll, Cedarville, Centerville, Chaminade Julienne, Dominion Academy of Dayton, Fairborn, Franklin, Kettering Fairmont, Mechanicsburg, Miamisburg, Milton-Union, Northmont, Springboro, Stebbins, Stivers School for the Arts, The Miami Valley School, Tippecanoe, Versailles, Wayne, and West Carrollton.

The Miami Valley High School Theatre Awards

Born from the strong foundation laid by the DayTony High School Theatre Awards, the Miami Valley High School Theatre Awards celebrate the accomplishments of area high school teachers and students by recognizing achievements in productions by participating Miami Valley area high schools. To participate, schools register to have their productions reviewed by a qualified team of adjudicators, who then provide directors with valuable feedback. During the spring, the Miami Valley High School Theatre Awards will present an awards showcase to recognize the outstanding achievements of high school productions and students. Modeled after the Tony Awards®, the showcase features outstanding performances from participating high schools and celebrates their enthusiasm, dedication, and talent while encouraging participating schools to grow and continue improving their programs.

Miami Valley High School Theatre Awards

Franklin High School Drama Club is a proud charter member in this program.