Side Menu Ends, main content for this page begins
Back to Side Menu (includes search)

Tour Dates for FJHS

Posted on: February 25, 2021 3:00 pm

FJHS Tour Dates

Community members, past students, former staff members and administrators, and the general public are invited to tour the current Franklin Junior High School (old high school) prior to its demolition.

“We know that community members have many fond memories of this building, and we want to provide the opportunity to say goodbye,” said Dr. Mike Sander, Superintendent of Franklin City Schools. “People talk about themselves, their parents, and even grandparents attending classes in this building, which we like to say has been ‘Wildcat Country since 1921’.”

Two tour dates will be available: Saturday, May 1, 4 to 6 p.m., and Saturday, May 22, 10 a.m. to Noon. Visitors are invited to tour the building at their leisure and students who are members of the National Junior Honor Society will be on hand to answer questions.

A virtual tour will be available for persons who live out of the area or who are physically unable to tour the building. More details about this will be forthcoming.

The current Franklin Junior High Building opened in 1921 as the East Building and housed both junior and senior high students. Additions were made in 1932, 1948, and 1952. In 1969, the current high school opened on 4th St., and students in grades 10 through 12 moved to that campus. Ninth grade classes began attending the current high school building in the fall of 1982.

The current junior high building is slated for demolition sometime after August 1 as part of the total rebuild of Franklin’s buildings, thanks to a bond issue passed by district voters in November 2020. Groundbreaking for a new high school will be this fall, with a tentative opening date in the fall of 2023. The new high school will be built where the current junior high and Hampton Bennett buildings are located. Junior high students will be housed in mobile classrooms on the current Franklin High School campus while construction is underway.

Franklin Junior High is at 136 E. Sixth St., Franklin. Persons with questions should call the superintendent’s office, (937) 746-1699.

FJHS Building


Irgens-Allison Purvis, Cartar Roberts, Triston Belt, Adrien Bonar, Kimberly Stacey, Gracie Hillard, Abigail Squires, Brady Brown, Matthew Carl, Addison Defrates, Jazmyn Angel, Aliya bowling, Emma Harmon, Jenna McGuire
Rice-Hannah Miller, Addison Standifer, Clori Young, Tanner Welte, Jayden Prater
Erwin-Trisha Patel, Sienna Finton, Connor Leach, Daniel Osborne, Connor Ramsey, Betty Combs, Anyiah Napier, Elijah Koss, Arianne Cortes, Damien Mosier, Zoey Wilson, Gavin Couch, Conner Jennings
Fenton-Maycie Fugate, Graham Carson, Emily Carmack, Camila Gonzalez, Lanee Imfeld, Christian Knipper, Louise Lamb, Robert Mireles, Bryley Wulff, Ryleigh Combs, Alana York, Jackson Langdon, Mackenzie Prickett, Spencer Blair
Bailey-Trevor Banks, Nathan Atchison, Karson Bryant, Tyler Welte, Tristen Hatfield, Braylon Williams, Erick Young, Maggie Hayes, Jonah Williams, Cheyanne Martin, Izsabelle Hubbard, Sophia Solomon
DeHart-Andrew Erb, Fredrik Meadows, Wyatt Benner, Aiden Farley, Caleb Osborne, Rebecca Roberts, Victoria Smith, Spencer Thompson, Aiden Standifer, Lily Hayes Payne Davidson, Dayne Cook, Elexus Estep
Myers-Victoria Braddom, William Dearth, Abigail Miller, Jessica Earley, Alexander Marcum, Isabella Taylor, Trent Lewis, Alyssa Hoskins, Hannah Reece, Alexia Crouch, Kai Cook, Madilyn Smith
Shelton-Elijah Harding, Abagail Adams, Nathaniel McGee, Alexis Earach, Annie Bales, Alexandra Bates, Grace McGuire, Christian McGuire, Kailey Estes, Rebekah Koss, Lilian York, Hailey Treadway, Jaidan Almeida-Ashley, Dillon Rupe
Irgens-Jayna Land, Brayden Dunn, Payton Neumann-Kirby, Selena Meyer, Bella Burns
Rice-Jocelyn Harris, Kayden Atchison, Conner Young, Raley Roark, Matthew Beck
Erwin-Carrson Franklin, Cristian Turner, Aiden Hydler, Raegan Smiley, Gaberiel White, Waylon Parker, Ian Back
Fenton-Rilynn Geisler, Haidon Meadows, Tyler Begley, Timothy Harris, Tommy Hollon
Bailey-Shelby Davis, Mylie McGee, Alexis Farley, Skyler Terzin, Kaleb Curtis, Cameryn Parker
DeHart-Emilee Dottry, Adam Carn, Rohan Barnthouse, Callen Johnson, Dillon Smith, Cole Watkins, Danny Pulido
Myers-Anakin Perez-Higdon, Acheron Marcum, Olivia Marshall, Tyler Beck, Montannah Stewart, Hunter Wilson
Shelton-Joden Dosado, Ashlee Land, Tatum Riddiough