Side Menu Ends, main content for this page begins
Back to Side Menu (includes search)

Thespian Banquet

Posted on: May 22, 2017 12:00 am
Thespian Troupe

FHS Thespian Troupe inducts new members, gives awards

Franklin High School Thespian Troupe 1569 inducted sixteen new members at its annual banquet on May 16. 
Those inducted were Cassidy Carver, Megan Combs, Hannah Cundiff, Mackenzie Faulkner, Olivia Faulkner, Jessica Gollahon, Abigail Hill, Elizabeth Isaacs, Cheyanne Lowman, Cody Martin, Victoria Partick, Sidnie Penny, Brooke Sizemore, Jackson Smith, Derek Stidman, and Taylor Whiteman,
They joined twenty-five students who had previously been inducted into the troupe: Maggie Biltz, Kaylee Bishop, Allison Blankenship, Megan Brock, Alexis Clifford, Jackson Cornwell, Carson Dalton, Alec Daves, Paul Dunn, William Franer, Dylan Gray, Lindsay Hurst, Nick Kakaris, Rowan Karrick, Rachael Kindred, Meghan Kochersperger, Elise Loux, Logan Miller, Caedmon Mills, Destiny Mitchell, Kelsea Penny, Madison Ramsey, Leanna Roberts, Candace Smith, and Emily Spencer. 
By participating in theater productions as cast or crew, inducted members earn points to move up through the International Thespian Society ranking system. Those achieving 60 points achieve Honor Thespian rank, 120 points National Honor Thespian rank, and 180 points International Thespian rank. 
FHS students achieving Honor Thespian rank were Nick Kakaris, Cody Martin, Alexis Clifford, Emily Spencer, Dylan Gray, Logan Miller, Lindsay Hurst, Jackson Cornwell, Rachael Kindred, Destiny Mitchell, Rowan Karrick, and Paul Dunn. FHS students achieving National Honor Thespian rank were Kelsea Penny, Maggie Biltz, Madison Ramsay, and Caedmon Mills. Two students were honored for achieving International Thespian rank: Cat Thornton and Leanna Roberts.
The evening also included acting and production awards for 2016-17. Alexis Clifford was named Best Supporting Actress for her role in Alice; Caedmon Mills was named Best Supporting Actor for his role in The Crucible; Nick Kakaris named Best Actor for his role in The Crucible; Rachael Kindred was named Best Actress for her role in Alice; Cody Martin was named Crew Member of the Year. Emily Spencer received a Special Achievement in Make-up award, a new category this year.
Caedmon Mills was named Thespian of the Year. 
Troupe advisor and FHS instructor Jeff Sams recognized the 19 seniors who had been part of the theater program for the past four years, presenting each with a play that he had picked for them personally.
The International Thespian Society was founded in 1929 in Fairmont, West Virginia. The FHS troupe was chartered in 1955; after a period of dormancy, it was reinstated last year.